Tea for the Bloggerman


T5AotW: Week 23
January 11, 2009, 6:56 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , , ,

pic011109_1

Week 23

1. Raw Power by Iggy and the Stooges
R.I.P. Ron Asheton.

2. Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon & Garfunkel
Love this album. “Only Living Boy in New York.”

3. The Best of the Velvet Underground
Can’t get enough Lou.

4. Old School Blues by Bernie Pearl
Two disc set by Bernie Pearl, one disc acoustic, one disc electric. Went to a guitar workshop that Pearl taught here and got this signed. Pearl is an amazing guitarist, top-notch. The guitar work is a real pleasure to listen to. HOWEVER I cannot say the same for some of the songs. The lyrics on a lot of these songs are very misogynistic. Now, I understand that singing about how a woman has wronged you is a tradition in blues, originating as a way of singing about an oppressive slave master out on the field without being punished for it. This being said, it seems that Pearl has chosen to record the most obscure, phallocentric songs in the blues canon. These songs go WAY beyond the “oh my baby left me, my baby cheated on me” blues. An example off the top of my head “If you shake for me, I’ll buy you a diamond ring/Oh if you shake for me, I’ll buy you a diamond ring/If you don’t shake it for me, I won’t buy you a gosh-darn thing.” Even though the lyrics are terrible, Pearl’s guitar makes up for it. Anyone who hasn’t heard Bernie’s music should buy this CD. I think it’s on CDBaby.com. Very good for the price.

5. Violent Opposition by Keith Levene
Original Clash guitarist and founding member of Public Image Ltd. has had a wonderful yet sparse selection of solo work. This is one of them. Levene tackles everything from hard blues rock to instrumental reggae with impressive skill. There are even a nice selection of covers on this CD, including Hendrix’s “If 6 Were 9” and John Lennon’s “Cold Turkey.” Buy it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

