Tea for the Bloggerman


T5AotW: Week 16
November 23, 2008, 11:14 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , , ,

Week Sixteen: November 23rd

1. Missouri Sky by Charlie Haden and Pat Metheny
I’ve been listing to a lot of Pat Metheny lately. I love his guitar work (and I want his Pikasso guitar!). This is a very fine album, very peaceful. Accomplishes exactly what it set out to do: to render the Missouri landscape into music. Put this CD on on a quiet night, sit out on the porch, and watch the stars for hours on end.

2. The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars by David Bowie
Listened to this album twice in a row on Friday. First track to last. I talked about this one before so I won’t bother. However, it should be noted that the demo versions of “Ziggy Stardust” and “Lady Stardust” on the special edition CD are EXCELLENT.

3. Mr. Wizard by R.L. Burnside
Mentioned R.L. in my previous entry. This is one of his classic albums, a collaboration with the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. A large number of blues standards (“Rollin’ and Tumblin'”, “Over the Hill,” “You Gotta Move”) made down and dirty by R.L. and company. Highly recommended.

4. The Stranger by Billy Joel
One of my personal favorite albums. I listened to this maybe five times all the way through this week. Great songs. “Movin’ Out” especially. I listened to the 7th track, “She’s Always a Woman” a large number of times only because the bookstore’s stereo was on “repeat” and I didn’t even notice. That song has some brutal lyrics. “And she’ll promise you more than the Garden of Eden/Then she’ll carelessly cut you and laugh while you’re bleedin'” Ouch. Billy and Elton John are going on tour together next year and I’m hoping to go. If the price is right.

5. White, Hot, and Blue by Johnny Winter
I listened to this album a few times at home after hearing about the death of Pat Ramesy, Johnny Winter’s harmonica player. A highly-skilled and innovated player. He will be missed. His harp work really shines on the song “Last Night” on the second side. As a matter of fact, the entire second side is wonderful. The second side includes Johnny’s covers of Junior Wells’ “Messin’ With the Kid” and Jimmy Reed’s “Honest I Do.” Great stuff, and so far not available on CD. Bought this at a used record shop in town (you can see the $3.99 price sticker still on it; I couldn’t take it off without damaging the cover).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

The fact that you and my mother have so much in common still scares me, referring to 4.

Comment by Yanira




Leave a Reply

