Tea for the Bloggerman


Top Five Albums of the Week: Week Ten
October 14, 2008, 9:50 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , , ,

Week Ten: October 12th

1. Hot by Squirrel Nut Zippers
An excellent modern gypsy jazz/swing album. I’ve had a soft spot in my heart for gypsy jazz for a while now and this album makes that soft spot softer. Peoples, check these guys out. Also, check out John Jorgenson while you’re at it. I saw him live in Montreal. Another excellent American gypsy.

2. Al Jolson’s Greatest Hits
What a voice, huh? I’ve had this cassette for a while now but I’ve been listening to it a lot recently because of an increased fascination in blackface minstrelsy. I’ll be writing a 25 page paper on the subject next semester so this is mainly preparation.

3. The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings by Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane
Two giants of bop colliding in a work of musical artistry. It is a shame these two did not do more together, but what little they did do is magical. I have yet to hear the live album these two did that was released in 2005, but I only hear good things about it.

4. Let Love In by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
I like Nick Cave a whole lot. I was first exposed to him in “I’m Your Man,” the Leonard Cohen documentary/tribute concert film that was released a few years ago in which Cave sings the title song and “Suzanne.” He had an interesting voice and offered interesting insights in his interviews, so I checked him out. One of the songs I downloaded after I saw that film was “Red Right Hand” and I adored it. The title comes from Milton. Miltony goodness. It’s on this album. Huzzah.

5. Station to Station by David Bowie
I featured this album a few weeks ago but so what. This thing is cataloging what I listen to the most week by week and I listened to this more than anything else this week. Mostly the title track. An outstanding work of genius. Once there were mountains on mountains and once there were sunbirds to sore with and once I could never be down… Simply astounding.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Interesting composition =]

Comment by Yanira




Leave a Reply

