Tea for the Bloggerman


Top Five Albums of the Week–Week Nine
October 5, 2008, 11:34 pm
Filed under: Concerts, music | Tags: , , ,

Week Nine: October 5th

1. Relaxin’ With the Miles Davis Quartet
I’ve been getting off on a bebop kick recently. Now I’ve listened to bop for a while now, mostly Thelonious Monk/Charlie Parker/Dizzy Gillespie, but I’ve been expanding my horizons. I’m taking a class on the Beat writers at UNLV and Kerouac writes a lot about bebop so that was a bit of an inspiration. Miles is great. He’s different from some of the other bop players, a lot smoother and “cool”er. And this is a very cool CD. Short, but very sweet. Also featured in the Miles Davis Quartet is John Coltrane on sax before he went solo. It doesn’t get much better than that.

2. Giant Steps by John Coltrane
An influential recording by Coltrane. This is a fun album to listen closely to, follow along with the changes and the improvisational journeying. How does he do it? I don’t know. Jazz magic I guess. Also, Coltrane’s music reminds me of the music on The Sims. And I love The Sims.

3. The Alligator Records 20th Anniversary Collection
Now this was a real find! Found this yesterday and it is a monster compilation. The cuts on this two-disc collection are taken from various records produced by Alligator Records over their (then) 20-year existence. Artists on the record: Albert Collins, Big Walter Horton, Hound Dog Taylor, Johnny Winter, Sonny Terry, Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, Professor Longhair, Koko Taylor, Pinetop Perkins…blues titans. The greatest cut on this collection is the song “Brick” by Albert Collins simply because of the first two lines: “A brick baby, I’m going to throw a brick upside yo’ head/I said a brick baby, I’m going to throw a brick upside your head…”

4. “Fly Me to the Moon” by Frank Sinatra
Now, I don’t have this song on any of my Frank Sinatra CDs (I’ve been listening to it on youtube) so I used Come Swing with Me for the picture. “Fly Me to the Moon” is a fantastic song. I fell in love with it from watching Neon Genesis Evangelion but soon found Frank’s version. I’m taking Guitar II at UNLV, taught by a guitarist by the name of Joe Lano. Jazz guitarist extraordinaire. He’s been teaching us some standards and I asked him if he could show us this song. He wrote it up on the board the next day and now we are busy working it out. I love it so much.

5. Various song by Mindless Self Indulgence
I saw MSI at the House of Blues on Friday. :] They were absolutely amazing. Where they get the energy from I have no idea. Of all their contemporaries (most of which suck) there is something about MSI that puts them on a whole ‘nother level. I got into them years ago when I was a little Jhonen Vasquez whore. Jhonen directed one of their music videos. Going to the concert was like a trip back into my past. The sounds and lyrics and themes. It was very refreshing. Thank you Jimmy and the gang.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

4 is my favorite!

Comment by Yanira




Leave a Reply

