Tea for the Bloggerman


Top Five Albums of the Week: Week Eight
September 28, 2008, 7:59 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , ,

Week Eight: September 28th

1. To Bring You My Love by PJ Harvey
I like PJ Harvey a lot. I found this baby at the used bookstore I work at. Lots of great songs here, lyrically and musically. PJ’s Tom Waitsian/Beefhearty blues-rocking voice really shines here, in my opinion. Especially in the title track. I wouldn’t be surprised if the following album was played on repeat at Harvey’s house…

2. Bone Machine by Tom Waits
A great Tom Waits album. Hard to get into, but each song is monumental in its own way. From the opening track “The Earth Died Screaming” (a personal favorite), through the pseudo-gospel tracks “Dirt in the Ground” and “Jesus Gonna Be Here,” down past the hard-rocking “Goin’ Out West” and down to “I Don’t Wanna Grow Up,” Tom doesn’ disappoint.

3. The Woodstock Album by Muddy Waters
One of Muddy’s later efforts which are underrated when compared to his classic Chess cuts. While Muddy himself may not be 100% on this record, the person who really shines is Paul Butterfield who contributes his harmonica-heroics to the band. Adam Gussow recommended this album on one of his youtube videos and I bought it up instantly after hearing some samples. Butterfield goes all out on “Goin’ to Main Street” and “Caledonia.” I also believe Pinetop Perkins is on this album too, which is always a bonus. Nothing Pinetop is on can be bad, that is one of Newton’s laws.

4. Hot Rocks 1964-1971 by The Rolling Stones
I have mixed feelings about the Rolling Stones as a whole, but in their early years nothing could match them. As long as Brian Jones was at their sides and undrowned, they were a juggernaut (bitch). “Paint it Black,” “Jumpin’ Jack Flash,” “Sympathy for the Devil.” Sweet bajeezus, they were good. Wha-happend?

5. Live at Antone’s by The James Cotton Blues Band
James “Superharp” Cotton, Matt “Guitar” Murphy, Pinetop Perkins, live and sizzling baby. These blues powerhouses blaze their ways through seven standards by Muddy Waters, Little Walter, and Sonny Boy Williamson, and end the set with Cotton’s unstoppable “Creeper.” Mind-boggling. Another Adam Gussow recommendation, I believe. I bought this online used for like $10. Now it’s selling for around $40. Check it out. I also left the first review of it on amazon.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you so much for introducing me to PJ! Actually I owe you many thanks to my current music likings.

Comment by Yanira




Leave a Reply

