Tea for the Bloggerman


Top Five Albums of the Week–Week Three: August 24th “Bobvid Feistie”
August 27, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: music, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

A couple of days late but just as great! Lots of Dylan because I will be seeing Bob live on September 6th in San Diego.

1. Highway 61 Revisited by Bob Dylan
Easily Dylan’s greatest album. Every song is a classic. I love the anger and the frustration in this album combined with Mike Bloomfield’s excellent blues guitar and Al Kooper’s electro-fied church organ. This with the single “Positively 4th Street” mark an excellent period in Dylan’s career.

2. Bringing it All Back Home by Bob Dylan
My new personal favorite Dylan album. Down and gritty blues mixed with Dylan’s Ginsbergian poetics. Sometimes loose and chaotic, other times calculated and soothing, but all in all excellent. Highlights: Mr. Tambourine Man, Subterranean Homesick Blues, Maggie’s Farm, and Outlaw Blues.

3. The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars by David Bowie
I love this album, I listen to it all the time. All the time. I can’t estimate how many times I’ve heard the album from first song to last, and it is impossible to count how many times I’ve listened to select individual songs. And the song Ziggy Stardust is one of the only songs I know how to play completely on the guitar. Here are the songs, in order, from best to still fucking good: Lady Stardust, Rock ‘n Roll Suicide, Starman, Hang On to Yourself, Soul Love, Moonage Daydream, Five Years, Ziggy Stardust, Star, Suffragette City, It Ain’t Easy.

4. The Remainder by Feist
An excellent album. I like most of the songs, give or take a couple. Feist has a beautiful voice, and her lyrics and song construction are top-notch. Highlights: My Moon My Man, Limit to Your Love.

5. Time out of Mind by Bob Dylan
Another Bob, but this one later on. More down and gritty blues. Even though I have listened to this album two or three times this week I still haven’t quite LISTENED to it. Not carefully anyway. But I like it. Except that one song…ummm…it’s called…To Make You Feel My Love or something like that. Extremely cheesy. Something Billy Joel would sing. And Billy Joel DID cover it. No disrespect to the Piano Man.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yum, Feist!

Comment by Anonymous

lol@title.

Comment by Anonymous

[…] Saved by aggregat4 on Fri 21-11-2008 Life In Past Barbados Saved by sheffner on Mon 17-11-2008 Top Five Albums of the Week–Week Three: August 24th "Bobvid… Saved by Taila201 on Sun 16-11-2008 Stardust (2007) Saved by historyman101 on Tue 04-11-2008 […]

Pingback by Recent Links Tagged With "stardust" - JabberTags




Leave a Reply

