Tea for the Bloggerman


Top Five Albums of the Week: August 10th
August 10, 2008, 4:08 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: ,

Inspired by Yann Tiersen’s “my vinyl top 5 of the week” blog posts on myspace, I decided to do a similar thing. Here’s a close approximation of the top five CDs/records/digital recordings that I have been listening to during the week. I’m going to try and do this every Sunday.

Top Albums of August 10th

Week One: August 10th **NOW WITH COMMENTS**

1. Low by David Bowie
I probably listened to Aladdin Sane more this week, but I don’t have a real copy of it to take a picture of. So I’ll talk about both. Low gets a lot of praise for being Bowie’s most experimental album, and boy does this experimentation pay off. Bowie and collaborator Brian Eno really deliver in this album, really expressing the “low” Bowie was experiencing at the time (“pale blinds drawn all day/nothing to read, not to say”). Bowie’s Berlin must’ve been both an inspiring and a lonely place to be.

2. The Shepherd’s Dog by Iron & Wine
Sam Beam, America’s next greatest folk singer. This guy can’t seem to miss. Every project he touches is gold. Three studio albums, numerous EPs, covers and collaborations. He’s got the magic. This album is more of a deviation from his usual humble, stripped-down acoustic work. Beam even admitted to finding inspiration in Tom Waits’ avant-Beefgarde breakthrough album Swordfishtrombones. While not nearly as mischievous as Waits, Beam is confident throughout. Love it lots.

3. Greatest Hits, So Far… by Public Image Ltd.
PiL. Most hate them, the rest absolutely adore them. I fall in the 0.01% of people who can’t make up their minds. The early PiL albums are amazing punk-meets-Jamaican-dub crossover efforts, but as the time line continues the albums get progressively worse. Except their last album, That What is Not. I really like that one. John Lydon, make up your mind. Either suck or don’t suck, you can’t be both!

4. The Cream of Clapton by Eric Clapton
Clapton is God. Everything from Cream classics to newer ventures. I am particularly fond of the songs “Bell Bottom Blues,” “Layla,” and “Lay Down Sally.”

5. Greatest Hits by Elton John
Elton John is amazing. I don’t care what you motherfuckers have to say. You listen to “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” and tell me it isn’t good. Thems be fightin’ words my friend.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like me some Iron and WHINE.

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

